Apec summit in Papua New Guinea begins, fracture over Future of Free Trade

The 21-nation summit starts on Saturday in Port Moresby, capital of Papua New Guinea (PNG). Leaders of the 21 APEC member economies opened their annual meeting to take sustained collective action to strengthen Asia-Pacific trade for greater growth and prosperity for all.

The APEC Haus – APEC Summit 2018 Papua New Guinea (PNG)

Leaders are seeking to formulate a shared vision for advancing APEC’s role as a driver of economic integration and growth, at a time of heightened risks.

APEC Economic Leaders are focusing on strengthening the digital economy, including how APEC can enable a more open, accessible and secure online environment, so communities and businesses of all sizes can participate.

Papua New Guinea Prime Minister Peter O’Neill told Leaders that travelling to Port Moresby had given local people hope that they can participate more economically in the vast Asia-Pacific region.

Congratulations to Crystal Kewe, the winner of APEC Digital Prosperity Award this year with her ‘Biluminous’ app.

APEC Members: Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, South Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Peru, The Philippines, Russia, Singapore, Chinese Taipei, Thailand, The United States, Vietnam

Source: APEC Secretariat